My Snaps By Alan Chai

http://www.isoftbn.com

Nokia E71 – Date problem

with 43 comments

UPDATE: March 13 2009 Reply from Nokia Careline

I own a Nokia E71 and love it very much. In the post NOKIA E71 IT’S EVERYTHING AND MORE where Jan mentioned

If there is one word to describe the E71, it has to be “screenful.” Essentially, it is everything the E51 is and more. A lot more! The LCD measures 4.8cm x 3.6cm of usable screen estate and with this much more space comes a lot more content such as the totally new Predictive Texting, SMS alert bubble (see Mail icon above), etc. The obvious and most challenging difference has to be the QWERTY keypad but let me say this. Like many I had my reservations about moving away from a tried and tested alpha-numeric keypad that we’ve gotten so fond of in the last decade or so. The learning curve for me to get used to the QWERTY layout was about half a day and it’s smooth sailing from then on—you’ll see why!

But I got problem with my workday alarm and date function. Basically every sunday morning when I switched on the phone, the date is not sunday, but saturday. I suspected there is some coding bug which seems to get amplified especially if you have set a workday alarm.  Now i set to daily alarm. And I have also noticed that the date always changes to today + two days. I updated to the latest firmware version 200.21.118 but the problem still unsolved.

I have contacted Nokia Singapore Customer Care and now waiting for their reply.

Thank you for contacting Nokia.

You will be receiving a reply from one of our Customer Care Representatives within the next 48 hours.

Have a good day.

Anybody got this date problem ? and managed to got it fixed ?

Reply from Nokia Careline

Dear Alan,

Hope this email finds you well and I am so sorry to hear that you are having issues with your Nokia E71.

I have tried updating my colleague’s Nokia E71 with the latest software and ther are no issues with the time and date settings.

However, I would suggest for you to switch your phone off, take out the battery and SIM card. Please leave them out for 10 minutes. Later, reinsert the battery and SIM card. Kindly switch your phone on. Please note that rebooting the phone temporarily resets the phone software and is only a temporary solution.

Alternativelyn Alan, you may restore factory settings on your Nokia E71 by following the steps below:

Menu > Tools > Settings > General > Security > Factory Settings. It will then prompt you to enter the lock code.

The default lock code is 12345. If you have previously changed the lock code, please enter your own lock code instead.

Restoring the factory settings may erase the following contents from your phone. However, this will not affect the contents that are stored in your memory card:

1. Multimedia Messaging Service (MMS) settings and General Packet Radio Service (GPRS) settings.
2. Downloaded contents from the web or the Internet such as: images, pictures, songs or themes that are on your phone.
3. Personalization like your themes, ring tones and others. You will need to reset it back to your own preference once this is done.

Please try to set the time and date settings again by selecting:

Menu > Tools > Settings > General > Date and Time.

Kindly monitor the issue and do let me know of the outcome.

Any inconvenience caused is much regretted.

Thank you for emailing Nokia Careline!

Do you know you can now update your phone software at your own convenience?
Visit www.nokia.com.sg/support to check if your phone model is supported and download the “Nokia Software Updater”.

Kind regards,

Renuka
Nokia Careline
Please contact us at 68228888
www.nokia.com.sg/support

I have tried both solution, but the date automatically advance to another 2 days still unsolved. I have noticed that if i don’t use the alarm function, my date is working properly. I suspected there is some coding bug with the alarm !

43 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thank u..!

    Ouzhan

    March 13, 2009 at 6:13 am

  2. Interesting article, i have bookmarked your blog for future referrence 🙂

    How to unlock a phone

    March 16, 2009 at 6:01 am

  3. I have hit the same issue, but with E63 :(.

    Calender is the *main* feature in E series and it is shocking that it fails 😦

    — BR, Dilip

    Dilip M

    April 2, 2009 at 1:48 pm

    • That’s shocking to hear from you that the latest E63 having the same issue Dilip. Hopefully Nokia will release an update soon to solve this issue.

      Alan Chai

      April 2, 2009 at 7:37 pm

      • I have the exact same problem with my E63.

        Oli

        May 7, 2009 at 12:41 am

  4. hey guys, I have this problem too, not solve with the abow ways, it happend after updating, what should i do now?

    Sheler

    April 3, 2009 at 5:51 pm

  5. by the way I updated it yesterday 😦

    Sheler

    April 3, 2009 at 5:53 pm

  6. wowowowow , my problem solved!! do you what , I set the year on 2008!! after changing it to 2009 it works!
    lolol

    Sheler

    April 3, 2009 at 7:21 pm

    • 🙂 Good for you… Btw you are using E71 or E63? What is the firmware version you are using?

      Alan Chai

      April 3, 2009 at 9:57 pm

  7. Hi,

    on my E71 I have the same problem….the phone alam rang this Saturday morning at 7h10 because it was believing it was Monday 😦

    I have found this discussion:
    http://discussions.nokia.co.uk/discussions/board/message?board.id=communicators&thread.id=36855

    “So far Nokia answered me that they can not solve the problem. The problem can apparently be solved by not switching off the phone or use the alarm.”

    What a great solution…… :-\

    puccio

    April 4, 2009 at 2:08 pm

  8. Hi,

    The problem I am facing is:
    “Every time I switch OFF and ON, my time and date settings are gone! and then I have to re-key them EVERY TIME”

    I have checked all the settings and still cant figure out what is wrong.

    Phone: E71 (200.21.118)

    Maleeq

    April 7, 2009 at 11:50 pm

    • Hi Maleeq,

      Please try the following:

      Press Options/Tools/General/Date and Time/Operator Time and disactivate it. See if it solves the issue.

      Alan Chai

      April 8, 2009 at 2:41 pm

      • Alan,

        I have the same problem as Maleeq but unfortunately, your method above does not work.

        Any idea why this is happening?

        Louise

        October 9, 2009 at 3:52 pm

        • Hi Louise,
          What is the firmware you are having?
          Did you updated to the latest firmware?
          The latest firmware fixed almost all the bugs i had.
          If you haven’t update, please download the firmware and update it. Hopefully your problem will be solve.

          Thanks

          Alan Chai

          October 9, 2009 at 11:40 pm

  9. […] the latest firmware update 210.21.006. Hopefully this latest firmware update fix my ” Nokia E71 – Date Problem ” . The update is available via Nokia Software […]

  10. updated yesterday, date issue still remains… 😦 best phone has such a fundamental issue…

    krneki

    April 11, 2009 at 6:27 pm

  11. Updated firmware to 210.21.006 and following problems appeared:
    1) if phone is switched off the alarm snooze is not working;
    2) date is changed automatically to today + 2days after use of GPS or email;
    3) alarm set for workdays will not work randomly on some days if phone is off;
    4) power saver will not update the clock if set to “none”.

    For me this is unacceptable to come from Nokia.

    Serghei

    April 14, 2009 at 8:43 pm

  12. same issue…. damn!!!!!

    gt

    April 17, 2009 at 3:51 am

  13. I’m bored of this policy “it doesn’t work? Well, buy a new one”.

    I bought an E71 because “nokia knows how to make phones” but I can’t wake up every morning and remember to bring date back because remembering me (to wake up and where to go) concerns the phone, not me.

    What we can do????

    Nokia is for sure caring about new cellular phones… E72 ? E73? And those who bought an E71?

    Sorry for my english

    gt

    April 17, 2009 at 4:17 pm

  14. Major problem with the E-series. And still no solution. I havean e71 and practically every day I need to change the date because it advances 2 days. Nokia should be ashamed. Especially for the solutions they suggest: ‘don’t use the alarm and don’t switch yout phone off’.
    If anyone finds a solution please post it. I registered on 5 forums about this problem. I hope somewhere a solution is found in the near future.

    Theo Vervloet

    April 27, 2009 at 4:13 pm

  15. Dear Friends,
    My E51 had no problem until updates to Last firmware!
    first there was some problems with WLAN appear. I perform formatting & the problem solved but date problem & SMS listing problem start. It is really upset me.

    Ali

    April 28, 2009 at 1:43 pm

  16. I wrote also in the nokia forum but I got no feedback right now.

    MAYBE I found the source of the bug: it’s the “automatic” switch on feature after the alarm rings

    PLEASE TRY THIS: when you stop the alarm and the phone says “switch on phone?” answer NO and switch it on manually by the power key on the top of the phone after few seconds.

    NOTE: if you switch it on immediately (in the same minute of the alarm), maybe you will hear the alarm again, this should not cause problems.

    PLEASE LET ME KNOW! I can only make 1 attempt per day! In the latest 4 attempts I got no bug with quick alarm (thu and fri) and workday alarm (mon and tue, today)

    Sorry for my english

    gt

    April 28, 2009 at 4:05 pm

    • Hi gt,

      I think you’re right about the bug. When you don’t switch on your phone automatically when it asks after the alarm, the date stays right. I’m trying it out for two days now. Have a workday alarm monday through friday. And no date changes if I keep the procedure in mind.
      I still hope Nokia does something with information like this. I forward this info to Nokia.

      Fingers crossed.

      Theo Vervloet

      April 28, 2009 at 4:15 pm

      • Thank you Theo.

        Keep us up to date, I will do the same.

        gt

        April 28, 2009 at 6:25 pm

  17. Today, like last wednesday, the workday alarm didn’t work.

    I give up on the workday alarm, I will set always a quick alarm.

    Anyway, still no date problem.

    gt

    April 29, 2009 at 2:33 pm

  18. An italian guy sent a mail to nokia and got an answer from them on March 28th. They said that the bug will be fixed in the next release of the firmware. So we have to wait

    gt

    April 29, 2009 at 11:43 pm

    • Hi gt. Any idea if you can retrieve that mail with the answer by Nokia that they will fix the bug?

      Theo Vervloet

      May 12, 2009 at 8:45 pm

      • yes, please check your account on nokia forum, you should have a mesasge!

        gt

        May 12, 2009 at 11:27 pm

  19. I’m also using the don’t switch the phone on when it asks for it technique and no bug after 3 days.

    Let’s hope Nokia quickly releases the new firmware.

    Theo Vervloet

    April 30, 2009 at 1:56 am

  20. firmware version 300.21.012 released. It seems to me that the bug date is FINALLY solved.

    I’m not sure because tomorrow I used snooze (finally it works!!!), I will be sure in the next days.

    gt

    July 3, 2009 at 6:56 pm

    • Thanks for the update gt. Will download the firmware now… 🙂

      Alan Chai

      July 3, 2009 at 9:01 pm

  21. My E71 shows error message like “Phone start-up failed. Contact the retailer” after replacing BP-4L battery.

    Could someone advice me how to clear the problem? Thank you in advance.

    Tucky

    July 3, 2009 at 11:15 pm

    • Tucky,
      Try to do a hard reset.

      1. Hold down the green call button, the * key and the 3 key.
      2. Press the power button while still holding the three buttons in step 1.
      3. Once the phone boots, you can let go of the buttons and go through the set up wizard and set up the time and date.

      Hopefully can solve your problem. But bear in mind that all your data will be gone. 🙂 Cheers

      Alan Chai

      July 4, 2009 at 9:03 pm

  22. Just updated my E71 to the latest firmware 300.21.012. Let see tomorrow whether date advancing + 2 days and workdays alarm is solved.

    Fingers crossed 🙂

    Alan Chai

    July 4, 2009 at 9:22 pm

  23. Tomorrow ok: alarm on workdays, 8:16 am, automatically switched on the phone after the alarm ring, date ok. I didn’t use snooze

    gt

    July 6, 2009 at 4:06 pm

    • Yup.. Mine works too… Alarm set to workdays. Yahoooooo the bug has been solved…

      Alan Chai

      July 6, 2009 at 6:02 pm

  24. Not sure about the alarm, but there are lots of other issues with E71 and after 6 months I am ready to dump the phone. Nokia messaging is down frequently, contacts with multiple addresses frequently don’t sync correctly, recurring all day appointments frequently don’t format correctly, and the phone is locking up on an increasing basis. This is my first Nokia in about 15 years and will never buy another one.

    miked

    July 7, 2009 at 3:06 am

  25. i have the same problem with the date advancing 2 days. Will try the new update.

    ruben

    August 25, 2009 at 5:32 am

  26. Nokia E71 raises more problem. 1. Alarm setup issue, 2. After updating new firmware WIFI stop works. 3 Millions of people affected by E71 “keypad” problem. No solution found yet.even if Brand new (1 week old) phone the keypad not working most of the E71.(Pleas Read all the forums)totally Nokia E71 is not Smartphone anymore and failure product. Nokia must recall this product.

    Ansari

    October 24, 2009 at 4:01 pm

  27. i have problem to my china e71 my cam not work error show that cam r busy
    wht can i do

    name

    September 24, 2010 at 10:56 pm

  28. Hi all,

    I have the same issue, my E51 is running 410.34.001 22-02-2010 RM-244. I think what this means for all of us nokia fans is… Buy another brand, this company is obviously not in tune with it’s customers and does not deserve a single penny.

    This problem was found in phones older than ours and was fixed by a firmware update, nokia dont seem to understand how to port fixes from previous firmware versions to newer phones, a kid learning to develop in high school understands the process of bug tracking and mitigation.

    I will now go out of my way to rubbish this brand at every opportunity I get. My message to nokia is… microsoft cannot save you, pack it in now… you are an epic failure!!!!!

    Thanks… For Nothing!

    panzza0031

    March 11, 2011 at 7:12 pm


Leave a Reply

